





November 29, 2024

Premier Padel GNP Mexico Major, day 4 Icardo's run-up in the FIP Race: Jensen tries to lead her

Four times in the quarter-finals since her return from injury. In order to qualify for the Premier Padel Finals in Barcelona, Tamara Icardo – also winner of the FIP Platinum in Marbella – knows she has to do more, but close to her is a player who has already lifted the trophy in Acapulco this year in March's P1, Claudia Jensen. After taking advantage of the withdrawal at the end of the first set of Victoria Iglesias and Marina Guinart, the number 7 seed in the Premier Padel GNP Mexico Major have a tough obstacle to overcome in the quarters, Gemma Triay and Claudia Fernandez. The number 2 seeded players, however, had to suffer and play the third set before eliminating Marta Marrero and Ksenia Sharifova (15): therefore, Icardo and Jensen believe in the feat. Ahead of Tamara in the FIP Race are Ale Alonso and Andrea Ustero, who were stopped in three sets (7-5 2-6 6-1) in the round of 16 by Paula Josemaria and Ari Sanchez, but also Aranzazu Osoro, who with Veronica Virseda continued her progress thanks to a 6-3 6-4 win over Noemi Aguilar and Teresa Navarro: the 'Vikinga' will face the FIP number 1 in the quarters. The other quarters, starting at 16.30 local time (23.30 CET) are Brea/Gonzalez (3)-Collombon/Martinez (16) and Salazar/Castelló (5)-Ortega/Araujo (4).

MEN In the men's draw, on the other hand, the pair of the day were Javi Garcia and Javier Barahona, who eliminated 6-2 1-6 7-6 the number 8 seeded Lucas Bergamini and Javi Garrido, with the Brazilian thus failing to accumulate any more important points in the FIP Race after the withdrawal of Pablo Cardona (and Paquito Navarro) and the elimination of Sanyo Gutierrez. Garcia reaches the top eight of a Premier Padel circuit tournament after 10 defeats in the round of 16, Barahona even after 14. The next opponents are Franco Stupaczuk and Mike Yanguas (4), in a bottom half of the draw where there are Fede Chingotto and Ale Galan (2) opposing José Jimenez and Pincho Fernandez. At the top, Arturo Coello and Agustin Tapia claimed their 37th consecutive victory, stopping Alex Ruiz and Alex Arroyo (6-3 6-4) from winning important points in the Race and they will face Coki Nieto and Jon Sanz (6); Martin Di Nenno and Juan Lebron (3) will find Momo Gonzalez and Edu Alonso (7).

Press contacts: International Padel Federation: press@padelfip.com





